Former Lantern EIC in newsroom tomorrow!!

Joseph D. Keefer, Ph.D, editor-in-chief of the Lantern in 1967, will be on campus on Friday.  He will be in the newsroom around 1:30 p.m. If you can stop by to introduce yourself, that would be great. As you can see below, he has literally done it all since leaving the newsroom about 40 years ago:

Currently, I am teaching half time at North Carolina Central University and I am spending the other half of my workweek doing editing, consulting and book-writing.

In the journalism portion of my career, I was a copy editor for The Columbus Dispatch and The Des Moines Register; a reporter and editor for UPI in Birmingham, Atlanta, New York, Paris and London; and a reporter and editor for McGraw-Hill Business Publications in Washington.

In my public relations and public policy phase, I was press assistant and energy policy assistant to a U.S. House of Representatives subcommittee chairman and I was director of government relations and public affairs for an energy-related trade association based in Washington.

In academe, I have been an associate professor at Penn State, an associate professor at Zayed University in Dubai and Abu Dhabi and a visiting professor at several universities.

I have written three books aimed at helping people become better writers.  One is titled “Zippy Writing: The Pocket Guide for Helping You to Write Correctly, Clearly and Concisely,” which was published this month.  I will give you a copy of that book when I see you.

Also, you might be interested in a five-page classroom handout that I have prepared.  The handout is titled “Mastering AP Style: A Guide to Major Provisions of The Associated Press Stylebook.”

Leave a Reply

